Bad Days, Great God

You know, some times you just have bad days. Today was one of those days for me. My wife and I had a big fight, our air conditioner broke, I was not feeling well, the offer on our house fell through etc etc. But at the same time I wonder why it is that I complain so much. I am so blessed, and highly favored!

Pat Bills, the youth minister at 4th ave church, spoke today about blessings. He used the story about Jacob taking Esau’s blessing from Isaac. More or less he remided the congregation that God blesses his children and wants more than anything for us to accept that blessing. I have the blessings of the Lord all around me but I have been blinded by my need for instant gratification, my religious zeal, my pride, my selfishness, my shame, my material wealth, and my doubt.

In Sunday school we are going through Matthew and today we talked about the Holy Spirit and ended up in II Corinthians. I was reminded that I must have faith so that God will remove the vail from my eyes so that I can expirience the Freedom of the Spirit. You see sometimes God has to shed light on all the junk around us that steals our attention from the glory, peace, freedom, holiness, love, joy, and comfort that we can only have in the Risen Son of the Living God. Often though, before we can see Jesus we must be compelled by the moving of the Spirit in our lives, sometimes by pointing out all of our Idols first, so that we can really have the vails lifted to see the glorious riches of our God. I leave you with a song and a poem. The song is by Andrew Petersen and the Poem is by John Donne, I hope to reexamine both at a later date as well. If you are having a bad day, remember that Jesus loves you with a love more constant than the rising and the setting of the sun.

Little Elba how’s the sun in South America?
does it shine upon the faces of the poor?
do they see in it the brilliance of the place
that’s been prepared
and dwell upon the hope of what’s in store?

Or are they just like me?
do they only see
an opportunity
to complain about the heat?

Little Elba, how’s the rain in South America?
Does it fall upon the rooftops of the sick?
Do they thank the Lord for coming up with such a
great idea and dream about a place beyond all this?

Or are they just like us?
do they gripe and fuss
about the rain and mud
when they’ve had too much?

(Chorus)

‘Cause I’m just a little jealous
of the nothing that you have
unfettered by the wealth of
a world that we pretend is gonna last
they say God blessed us with plenty
I say you’re blessed with poverty
‘cause you never stop to wonder whether
earth is just a little better than
the Land of the Free

well, I’m weary of the spoils of my ambition
and I’m shackled by the comfort of my couch
I wish I had the courage to deny these of myself
and start to store my treasure in the clouds

‘Cause this is not my home
I do not belong
where the antelope
and the buffalo roam

(Chorus)

and I’m just a little jealous
of the freedom that you have
unfettered by the wealth of
a world that we pretend is gonna last
they say God blessed us with plenty
I say you’re blessed with poverty
‘cause you never stop to wonder whether
earth is just a little better than
the Land of the Free

so I hope you’re safe and dry in South America
‘cause I’m feeling pretty good in Tennessee
may you never be so happy you forget about your
home…
Your home in the Land of the Free.

-Andrew Petersen

 

Batter my heart, three-person’d God ; for you
As yet but knock ; breathe, shine, and seek to mend ;

That I may rise, and stand, o’erthrow me, and bend
Your force, to break, blow, burn, and make me new.

I, like an usurp’d town, to another due,
Labour to admit you, but O, to no end.

Reason, your viceroy in me, me should defend,
But is captived, and proves weak or untrue.

Yet dearly I love you, and would be loved fain,
But am betroth’d unto your enemy ;

Divorce me, untie, or break that knot again,
Take me to you, imprison me, for I,

Except you enthrall me, never shall be free,
Nor ever chaste, except you ravish me.

-John Donne


Rejoice in the Lord always, and again I say Rejoice!!!


					
Explore posts in the same categories: bible, Christianity, faith, Freedom, God, hurt, Jesus, John Donne, lonely, love, pain, Religion

Leave a Reply

