The Apostle’s Creed, History Forgotten?

The Apostle’s Creed

I believe in God, the Father Almighty,
 the Creator of heaven and earth,
 and in Jesus Christ, His only Son, our Lord:
Who was conceived of the Holy Spirit,
 born of the Virgin Mary, suffered under Pontius Pilate,
 was crucified, died, and was buried.
He descended into hell.
The third day He arose again from the dead.
He ascended into heaven
 and sits at the right hand of God the Father Almighty,
 whence He shall come to judge the living and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy catholic church,
 the communion of saints,
 the forgiveness of sins,
 the resurrection of the body,
 and life everlasting.
Amen.

Just wondering why more Christians today dont know creeds like this, or many other important parts of Church history? Any thoughts about how we became so short-sighted? How is it that we so quickly forget about the teachings, the triumphs and failures, the lessons learned, and the battles fought of the members of Christ’s body that came before us? Perhaps we should return to the first part of Hebrews 11 that reminds us that a great cloud of witnesses surounds us in order to help us seek a deeper faith. Maybe we should be humble enough to think that we can learn from those who came before us. Finally, I hope that we leave something worth remembering and looking back upon, for generations to come. Shalom.

Explore posts in the same categories: belief, bible, Christianity, church, faith, God, history, Jesus, Kingdom of God, Religion, sin, Truth, worship

4 Comments on “The Apostle’s Creed, History Forgotten?”

  1. Eleazar Says:

    Nai, adelphos emou, nai kai amen. Visited a Catholic Mass today with my roommate, who is Presbytrian, and it was amazing. Whatever happened to that whole, one faith, one body, one baptism?

  2. Christian Says:

    Man, for once I don’t quite see eye to eye with you. I can see a downside to the creeds. I’m sure you have heard it before, but I wonder how many people in churches past and present have recited the creeds without giving any thought to what they mean (me!) and how many others will mumble through those parts they do not understand nor agree with (me again!)

    Take the example you just gave: Descended into Hell? Is that Biblical? I really don’t have an opinion on it but plenty do, both for and against.

    There are other examples but I’ve forgotten them. (Oops.)

  3. rogueminister Says:

    Brother, I think we may see eye to eye more than you think. Let me explain.

    I am not proposing that we recite any creeds or make them part of our regular church life. I am merely suggesting that more Christians need to be aware of where we came from, of the centuries of Christ followers who have profoundly impacted the way in which we understand the Messiah.

    The tradition I come from makes the claim, out of ignorance I think, that we are doing the same sort of things as the first century church. We often dont realize how much of an effect the generations that have come before us have had on our theology, our church practice, even the way we read the bible.

    I mean do any of us think we really read the bible without being influenced by our own church traditions or other outside factors?

    One finaly thought, that I think you will probably feel me on. Most Christians know little or nothing about the Constantinian shift, which has had more powerful and detrimental consequenses than probably any other time in church history.

    Didnt someone once say, that those who forget history are doomed to repeat it?

  4. Christian Says:

    Amen, amen, amen!


Leave a Reply

