Would Jesus Vote? Part 4

To finish this series I thought I would put up a list of resources. These books range from those supporting conservative politics to liberal politics, and from supporting Christians involvement in government to supporting the idea that we should stay away from worldly politics. Some deal specifically with the issues we have been discussing while others only touch on related subjects. 

“God and Government,” Charles Colson

“God’s Politics,” Jim Wallis

“The Myth of a Christian Nation,” Greg Boyd

“Myths America Lives By,” Richard Hughes

“Mere Discipleship,” Lee C. Camp

“The Politics of Jesus,” John Howard Yoder

“Jesus for President,” Shane Claiborne and Chris Haw

“Christian Anarchy,” Vernard Eller, This one can also be found free online here.

Here are a few more links on the topic.

Jesus Manifesto

Shane Claiborne on God’s Politics blog

 

This is a very short list. This is a subject that has been extensively covered from a variety of perspectives. If it interests you I would like to hear what you think.

Explore posts in the same categories: belief, bible, Christianity, church, democrats, faith, God, government, history, Jesus, Kingdom of God, life, love, politics, Religion, republicans, Scripture

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Would Jesus Vote? Part 4”

  1. justinmundie Says:

    I like your thoughts on these last couple posts.

    BTW, you and Rachel should come visit the church I’m leading worship at. There are a couple of touchstone people there

  2. rogueminister Says:

    I wish we could, but we will only be in the Nashville area for one more Sunday before we head up to Kentucky.

  3. Karen Says:

    The Christian and Politics Article link below:

    In the past week I have experienced such an opening of the Scriptures, unlike anything I’ve experienced for many, many years. I am now seeking to write the things I believe God has fully settled in my heart regarding the spirits at work behind the promotion of God’s children joining hand-in-hand with worldly politics. This morning I only have time to share a weblink to an article by Brother Carl Knott. God directed me to this article after I had almost stepped out of my boat at what I thought was Jesus’ calling me to register to vote and cast my vote for McCain/Palin. I don’t have time to share all that I’d like to just now. But as I sense time is of the essence for God’s pure, unadulterated Voice to be heard, I am sharing this link on this site, in prayer that all God’s sheep who are searching as my husband and I have searched, will find the truth and have grace to walk in it. God, direct each of us into your good and perfect will and deliver your people, oh God, from the snare that is surrounding them. In Jesus’ Name

    Here is the link to the article entitled — The Christian and Politics

    http://www.nlbchapel.org/politics.htm

    Karen


  4. […] I wrote a fairly popular series of posts a while back entitled Would Jesus Vote? The basic idea was to chronicle some of the reasons I believe Christians should be wary of participating in the government on any level. So here they are:  One, Two, Three and Four. […]


Leave a Reply

